Live Events 1

Pablo Silva Wins Irish Open Online Main Event for €462,100

Pablo Silva Wins Irish Open Online Main Event for €462,100

Brazil's Pablo Silva has won the Irish Open Online on partypoker for €462,100 after topping a 2,945-player field. He defeated Hungary's Andras Nemeth heads-up to secure victory, adding to his MILLIONS South America Main Event victory back in February.

With 51 players to start Day 3, start-of-day chip leader Sihao Zhang finished third with notables Tom Middleton and Parker Talbot also making it to the final table.

2020 Irish Open Online Main Event Final Table Results

PlacePlayerCountryPayout (EUR)Payout (USD)
1Pablo Brito SilvaBrazil€ 462,100$494,447
2Andras NemethHungary€ 325,423$348,203
3Sihao ZhangLuxembourg€ 210,723$225,474
4Eduardo SilvaBrazil€ 139,004$148,734
5Gerard FinlayIreland€ 96,302$103,043
6Tom MiddletonUnited Kingdom€ 65,821$70,428
7Parker TalbotCanada€ 45,648$48,843
8Shaun ConroyIreland€ 29,097$31,134

Check out the full results on partypoker

Sihao Zhang

Final Table Recap

Start-of-day Sihao Zhang (pictured) had held onto the chip lead by the time the final table of eight was reached, ahead of Pablo Silva and Andras Nemeth.

It didn't take long for the first elimination of the final table, with Shaun Conroy three-betting all in with ace-queen into the queens of Silva who overtook Zhang at the top of the counts.

In fact, Silva was soon soaring ahead, with more than double his nearest rival, but back came Zhang. He shoved from the button with ace-ten and was called by the pocket queens of Parker Talbot in the big blind. Unfortunately for the Canadian, two tens came and he was eliminated in seventh place.

Tom Middleton

Tom Middleton (pictured) was eliminated in a pot against the chip leader, flopping two pair only for Zhang to go runner-runner to make a flush and eliminate the Brit and extend his chip lead.

The last Irishman standing went next, with Gerard Finlay shoving queens into the ace-king of Zhang, and an ace on the flop saw him eliminated.

Silva was still in command of proceedings, and his stack grew further still when he eliminated fellow Brazilian Eduardo Silva in fourth place. Eduardo Silva had flopped a straight and got his chip sin, but Pablo Silva turned a bigger straight to eliminate his opponent.

Now with Silva in command, he shoved blind-on-blind against Zhang a short while later and the short-stack called. Zhang was ahead with ace-six, but Silva flopped a flush draw, with the requisite diamond coming on the turn to eliminate the Day 2 chip leader in third place.

Andras Nemeth

Heads-up play took around an hour, and although Silva started with a commanding 2:1 lead, the stacks soon levelled out. The turning point came when Nemeth (pictured) missed both straight and flush draws to send a 37 million chip pot to Silva who had rivered two pair.

Nemeth would double, but the final hand came shortly thereafter. Nemeth had flopped top pair, and subsequently turned two pair. However, the turn card had made Silva a straight and when Nemeth shoved the turn, Silva called. The river bricked and Silva was the 2020 Irish Open Online champion!

Andreas Torbergsen Wins Irish Open Online Event #20

Andreas Torbergsen defeated a field of 147 players to win the Irish Open Online PLO 8-Max for €33,795.

He defeated Ukraine's Kamel Mokhammad heads-up in a tournament that almost tripled the original €50,000 guarantee.

Irish Open Online Event #24 Final Table Results

PlacePlayerCountryPayout (EUR)Payout (USD)
1Andreas TorbergsenNorway€ 33,795$36,161
2Kamel MokhammadUkraine€ 24,255$25,953
3Riku Santeri PiiroinenFinland€ 17,640$18,875
4Christopher WoodUnited Kingdom€ 12,495$13,370
5Kristoffer EdbergSweden€ 8,820$9,437
6Nikos LampropoulosCyprus€ 6,983$7,472
7Alfred KarlssonSweden€ 5,557$5,946
8Yuri DzivelevskiBrazil€ 4,410$4,719

Other notables who finished in the money included Martijn Gerrits (15th - €2,720), Juha Helppi (16th - €2,720) and Christopher Frank (17th - €2,279)

Michiel Brummelhuis Wins Irish Open Online Liam Flood Memorial After Three-Way Deal

Michiel Brummelhuis

A three-way deal ensured five-figure payouts for Michiel Brummelhuis, Waheed Ashraf and Niall McAree in the Irish Open Online Liam Flood Memorial.

A total of 448 players entered the event, more than doubling its original €50,000 guarantee.

A two-time Irish Open winner, Flood took over the running of the Irish Open from event founder and his close friend Terry Rogers in 1999. Flood died in 2014 and the Liam Flood Memorial Championship Event has been held in his honour ever since.

Liam Flood Memorial Final Table Results

PlacePlayerCountryPayout (EUR)Payout (USD)
1Michiel BrummelhuisNetherlands€17,482*$18,706*
2Waheed AshrafUnited Kingdom€16,487*$17,641*
3Niall McAreeIreland€15,478*$16,561*
4Thomas HaarstadNorway€ 8,176$8,748
5Ranno SootlaEstonia€ 5,824$6,232
6Daria KrashennikovaRussia€ 3,696$3,955

*denotes three-handed deal

Christopher Johnson wins Irish Open Online Deepstack for €14,791

One of the last events to crown a winner in this year's Irish Open Online was Event #22, with the UK's Christopher Johnson topping a 529 player field to win €14,791.

The Deepstack tournament was yet another that more than doubled its original guarantee, with a €79,350 prize pool generated by the time registration closed.

Irish Open Online High Roller winner Ioannis Angelou-Konstas was notable at the final table, taking home €,2523 for his sixth-place finish.

Irish Open Online Event #22 Final Table Results

PlacePlayerCountryPayout (EUR)Payout (USD)
1Christopher JohnsonUnited Kingdom€ 14,791€ 15,826
2Mark MuldoonUnited Kingdom€ 10,514€ 11,250
3Garrett DevineUnited Kingdom€ 7,165€ 7,667
4Andrey IvlevRussia€ 4,959€ 5,306
5Ilya BarkovRussia€ 3,491€ 3,735
6Ioannis Angelou-KonstasNetherlands€ 2,523€ 2,700
7Vitor DzivielevskiBrazil€ 1,817€ 1,944
8Feargus MurphyUnited Kingdom€ 1,301€ 1,392

Other notable finishes in the money included Martin Jacobson (13th - €849), Michael Sklenicka (16th - €849), Josip Simunic (21st - €682), Jan-Eric Schwippert (27th - €524), Jaime Staples (37th - €436), Manig Loeser (56th - €381),Jack Sinclair (61st - €365) and Ognyan Dimov (68th - €357).

This concludes our reporting on the Irish Open Online on partypoker. We hope you have enjoyed reading about all the big winners from an exciting festival on one of the biggest poker sites in the world! Keep your eyes peeled for more tournament reports from PokerNews coming soon!

Name Surname
Will Shillibier

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Almost $1.6M Guaranteed in partypoker’s Leaderboards Almost $1.6M Guaranteed in partypoker’s Leaderboards