Live Events 1

Pim de Goede Leads Biggest-Ever Aussie Millions Main Event

Before the cards for Day 2 of the 2019 Aussie Millions Main Event were in the air, a new record attendance was in sight as 797 players had entered the A$10,600 flagship event at the Crown Casino in Melbourne throughout the three starting days. 405 hopefuls returned to the poker room of the biggest casino complex in the Southern Hemisphere with registration for the flagship event open for the first 90-minute level.

Thanks to 25 new entries on Day 2, the field increased to 822 entries; a new record was set once more with a total prize pool of A$8,220,000 up for grabs. Only the top 88 spots will get paid a minimum of A$15,600 while the winner of the record-setting 2019 Aussie Millions Main Event can look forward to a payday of A$1,850,000.

Best-positioned after the twelfth level of play is Dutchman Pim De Goede. He recently scored one of the biggest paydays in the history of online poker and won a tight race for the overnight chip lead bagging 413,000. He is closely followed by Bjorn Ostby (386,300) and Ben Lai (378,000). Further big names in the top ten include David Yan (363.300), Michael Soyza (317,100), Minh Nguyen (315,700) and Maxi Lehmanski (314,000).

Aussie Millions 2019 Main Event Top 10

PositionPlayerCountryChip CountDay 3 Start Big Blinds
1Pim De GoedeNetherlands413,000172
2Bjorn OstbyAustralia386,300161
3Ben LaiHong Kong378,000158
4David YanNew Zealand363,300151
5Shane MoranAustralia346,900145
6Michael SoyzaMalaysia317,100132
7Dingxiang OngSingapore316,300132
8Minh NguyenAustralia315,700132
9Maxi LehmanskiGermany314,000131
10Spiros MaroulisAustralia308,700129

Some of Australia's finest also remains in the hunt for the title on home soil such as Michael Egan (292,800), Michael Addamo (279,300), Corey Kempson (238,800), Matthew Wakeman (217,700), Rory Young (210,000), and Jackie Glazier (149,900). The sole remaining former Aussie Millions Main Event champion is Tyron Krost with 122,700, whereas defending champion Toby Lewis and David Gorr were eliminated on Day 2.

Young Achiever Award and Australian Poker Hall of Fame

Before the action got underway on Day 2, Joe Hachem awarded the Australian Poker Young Achiever award to Alex Lynskey followed by the induction of Jonathan Karamalikis into the Australian Poker Hall of Fame. Karamalikis is the youngest player to achieve this.

Jonathan Karamalikis inducted into Australian Poker Hall of Fame
Jonathan Karamalikis inducted into Australian Poker Hall of Fame

Aussie Millions Day 2 Action

Throughout the five 90-minute levels on the moving day of the tournament, plenty of notables fell short in their bid to claim a stack for the expected money bubble on Day 3 and that also included Toby Lewis. After running hot in the High Roller event with a victory and runner-up finish, the Brit was unable to defend his Main Event title.

Australian Poker Hall of Fame members Jason Gray and Mel Judah were also among the plentiful casualties, as were big names such as Scott Davies, Benny Glaser, Maria Ho, Rainer Kempe, Tom Alner, Dzmitry Urbanovich, and Maria Lampropulos.

Fewer than 170 players bagged chips, and they will return to the poker room at Crown Casino on Thursday for Day 3. The action recommences in level 13 with blinds of 1,200/2,400 and a running ante of 400. Another seven 90-minute levels are scheduled, and the money bubble is expected to burst.

You can follow all the Aussie Millions Live Updates right here on PokerNews.

Aussie Millions 2019 Main Event Payout

PositionPayout (AUD)Payout (USD)
  • 822 entries in the Aussie Millions 2019 Main Event!

Name Surname
Christian Zetzsche

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Toby Lewis Wins 2019 Aussie Millions AU$50,000 Challenge for AU$818,054 Toby Lewis Wins 2019 Aussie Millions AU$50,000 Challenge for AU$818,054