888poker XL Blizzard
New poker experience at 888poker

Join now to get $88 FREE (no deposit needed)

Join now
Double your first deposit up to $400

New players can use bonus code 'STARS400'

Join now
partypoker Cashback

Get up to 40% back every week!

Join now
€200 progressive bonus

+ a FREE Unibet Open Qualifier ticket

Join now

Thomas Muehloecker Crowned Aussie Millions Event #3 Champion

  • PokerNews StaffPokerNews Staff
Thomas Muehloecker
  • The Aussie Millions $1,150 Shot Clock Shootout is in the books with Thomas Muehloecker earning the win!

After an exciting weekend of play in Melbourne, the 2017 Aussie Millions is heating up with Austrian Thomas Muehloecker taking down the third event of the series for AUD$40,125. Event #3 featured an AUD$1,150 buy-in and a fun, fast-paced shootout format that instituted a shot clock to keep the game moving.

Muehloecker, who has USD$2.9 million in lifetime tournament earnings to his name leads all Austrians for money earned playing live poker tournaments and has been a regular at the Aussie Millions since 2013. He's got five Aussie Millions cashes to his name, but this is his first victory.

The event began with 153 runners and 17 shootout tables, up from the 126 players who played the same event in 2016. Play began on January 15th at the Crown Entertainment Complex in Melbourne, with each of the winners of the 17 shootout tables earning a minimum of AUD$2,075.

Among those who won their first table and moved on the final day were 2016 PokerNews Cup Borgata champion, Ryan Van Sanford, noted online poker wizard, Stefan Jedlicka and 2016 Aussie Millions Main Event champion Ari Engel.

Engel, the reigning champ wasn't able to add a second Aussie Millions title to his list of accomplishments just yet finishing 7th, earning him AUD$7,565. Van Sanford followed him in sixth place (AUD$9,130), good for his first career Aussie Millions cash.

The final five battled well into the night with Preben Stokkan finishing 5th, Shoshiro Karita finishing 4th, and Dejan Boskovic finishing 3rd leaving just Szmelcer and Muehloecker to play heads up for the Anton Aussie Millions championship ring.

When the dust settled it was Muehloecker who earned the victory, leaving Szmelcer, a Crown Poker regular with AUD$26,775 for his runner-up finish.

1Thomas MuehloeckerAustriaAUD$40,125
2Henry SzmelcerAustraliaAUD$26,775
3Dejan BoskovicAustraliaAUD$17,365
4Shoshiro KaritaAustraliaAUD$13,445
5Preben StokkanNorwayAUD$11,090
6Ryan Van SanfordUnited StatesAUD$9,130
7Ari EngelCanadaAUD$7,565

Related Tournaments

Related Players

Other Stories

What do you think?