New poker experience at 888poker

Join now to get $88 FREE (no deposit needed)

Join now
Double your first deposit up to $400

New players can use bonus code 'STARS400'

Join now
partypoker Cashback

Get up to 40% back every week!

Join now
€200 progressive bonus

+ a FREE Unibet Open Qualifier ticket

Join now

NETELLER and Skill Prepaid Mastercard Only Available in SEPA Countries

NETELLER and Skrill
  • The prepaid Mastercards offered by NETELLER and Skrill will only be available in SPEA countries from Nov.25

An email sent to customers of NETELLER and Skrill reveals the popular prepaid Mastercard service is to be suspended in more than 100 countries around the world.

Paysafe Group, the parent company of NETELLER and Skrill, offers its massive customer base a prepaid Mastercard facility that gives players instant access to the funds stored in their ewallet. Customers withdraw their funds from ATMs for a small fee, or spend them online or in-store wherever Mastercard is accepted.

The email sent to Skrill customers reads:

Dear Customer

We regret to inform you that as of 25 November 2016, we will no longer offer the Skrill Prepaid Mastercard in your country. You will not be able to use your card but your Skrill Account remains fully functional and your balance is unaffected. You can withdraw funds from your Skrill Account to your bank account or send money to any other Skrill user or online business accepting Skrill.

If you have any questions, please visit our website and FAQ page.

The Skrill Team

It is also thought that NETELLER’s Net+ Prepaid Mastercard is also affected.

The Skrill FAQ page now states that the Skrill Prepaid mastercard is only available to residents of authorised Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA) countries. SEPA consists of 34 countries at present, 28 member states of the European Union (19 of which are in the Eurozone), three countries that have signed the European Economic Area agreement, and three countries with agreements in the EU. The full list reads:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

If this is the list of accepted countries, players from major countries such as Australia, Brazil, and Russia will need to find another way to access their fund, most probably via bank transfers, some of which carry relatively high fees. The move could also give cause for concern for online poker players and sports bettors because they will no longer be able to withdraw funds directly to their prepaid Mastercard which could see their profits from online gambling come under scrutiny from the relative authorities.

Lead image courtesy of Creativesince1983

Other Stories

What do you think?