2015 GUKPT Grand Final is the Richest in History; Patrick Frew Leads Overall

2015 GUKPT Grand Final is the Richest in History; Patrick Frew Leads Overall 0001
  • Patrick Few topped the 2015 GUKPT Grand Final Day 1b chip counts and leads overall.

  • £624,000 prize pool is the largest in the history of the GUKPT.

It is official, the 2015 Grosvenor UK Poker Tour (GUKPT) Grand Final is the richest in the tour’s history after 194 entries on Day 1b saw the prize pool swell to a staggering £642,000, breaking through the £600,000 barrier for the first time.

Ninety-eight of the 194 Day 1b entrants progressed to Saturday’s Day 2 with Patrick Frew leading those survivors courtesy of finished the night having to cram 182,500 chips into his overnight chip bag. Few now leads the 157 Day 2 players back into battle and does so with a cushion of around 50,000 chips.

2015 GUKPT Main Event Day 1b Top 10 Chip Counts

1Patrick Frew182,500
2Aung Aye180,100
3Ronaldo Vahid Amirzahir165,000
4James Akenhead127,400
5John Gale125,700
6Vicenete Delgado125,600
7Eric Chen115,000
8Waheed Ashraf105,900
9Dahe Liu105,800
10Jamie O’Connor105,500

Few pipped Aung Aye (180,100) and Ronaldo Vahid Amirzahir (165,000) to the chip lead, but both of those players will still be delighted with their performances on Day 1b, and have given themselves the best possible chance of walking away with a slice of the record-breaking prize pool.

Whenever large prize pools are on offer the professional players sniff them out and turn out in droves. This was the case on Day 1b when the likes of James Akenhead (127,400), John Gale (125,700), Vicente Delgado (125,600), Waheed Ashraf (105,900), and Jamie O’Connor (105,500) headed to London and bagged up top 10 stacks.

Other notable stars to progress from Friday’s flight include Keith “The Camel” Hawkins (83,600), Ireland’s Dermot Blain (79,000), Sergio Aido (77,900), Adrian Mateos (74,100), Chris Sly (72,500), recent addition to the “Daddy Club” Steve Watts (60,500), Shola Akindele-Deadman (41,700), Team PokerStars Pro Jake Cody (38,200), reigning champion Charlie Carrel (35,100), Eoghan O’Dea (24,600), Daniel Rudd (18,600), Ellie Biessek (17,200), Keith Johnson (17,000), and Joe Laming (14,200).

A total of 157 players return to the Grosvenor Casino Victoria for Saturday’s Day 2 and only 30 of them will win some prize money. A min-cash weighs in at £4,500, which increases to £12,200 for a final table appearance. Whoever the eventual champion of the 2015 GUKPT Grand Final is not only has the honour of winning the richest Grand Final in the tour’s history, but also collects £178,600. It’s probably an idea to use your “one-time” around now!

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories