2015 WPT Amsterdam Main Event Day 2: van den Bijgaart Leads

Joep van den Bijgaart

Day 2 of the 2015 World Poker Tour (WPT) Amsterdam Main Event saw the field whittled to a much more manageable 65 players, 65 players who are being led by the Netherlands’ Joep van den Bijgaart.

The Dutchman has a superb tournament record in his home country and looks set to improve that record further still thanks to going into Day 3 with a tournament leading stack of 438,000 chips. Some of van den Bijgaart’s results in Holland include a win for €61,230 in a €750 buy-in event at the 2011 Amsterdam Masters, a third place finish for €50,213 in the 2009 Amsterdam master Main Event and a fourth place finish in the 2013 Amsterdam Masters €10,000 High Roller for €25,740.

Although there’s a long way to go before van den Bijgaart can see the €215,000 first place prize in this event, he should sail into the money places on Day 3 as 45 of the remaining 65 players are paid. €6,000 awaits anyone reaching the money.

Day 1a chip leader Fredrik Andersson had a solid day at the felt on Day 2 and bagged up 412,000 chips, enough to secure second place at the close of play.

Other notables still in with a chance of becoming a WPT champion include Giacomo Fundaro (312,000), WPT Amsterdam High Roller champion Jason Wheeler (278,000), Sorel Mizzi (254,000), David Yan (238,000), Felix Stephensen (229,500), Steve O’Dwyer (221,500), Anthony Zinno (116,000), Govert Metaal (104,000), Noah Boeken (69,500) and Andrew Chen (61,000).

There also a handful of notable British players still in the hunt and we’ll be railing them all the way until the bitter end. Keep an eye out in the chip counts and on the live reporting pages for the likes of David Hudson (263,500), Louis Salter (223,000), Senh Ung (170,000), Steve Warburton (145,000), Simon Trumper (132,000), Luke Marsh (66,900), and Michael Kane (32,000).

2015 WPT Amsterdam Day 2 Top 10 Chip Counts

1Joep van den Bijgaart438,000
2Fredrik Andersson412,000
3Barrie Pietersz367,500
4Giacomo Fundaro312,000
5Fredrik Haugen307,000
6Jason Wheeler278,000
7Guy Goossens271,500
8Rumen Nanev269,500
9Monty Albadawi269,500
10David Hudson263,500

Play resumes at 2:00 pm local time and continues until another five 90-minute levels are done and dusted. Will van den Bijgaart still lead at the end of Day 3 or will one of the British contingent bulldoze their way to the top of the chip counts? Find out by following all of the action, as it happens, via the PokerNews Live Reporting pages.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories