Live Events 1

Matas Cimbolas Wins UKPC High Roller; Robert White Excels In the Main Event

Matas Cimbolas

Three months ago, almost to the day, UK-based Lithuanian poker pro Matas Cimbolas returned home from Nottingham's Dusk Till Dawn (DTD) with £200,000 and the title of 2014 partypoker WPT UK Main Event champion. Cimbolas is now in possession of another trophy after walking away with the 2015 Sky Poker UK Poker Championships High Roller title, again at DTD.

Cimbolas went into the second and final day of the £3,000 buy-in High Roller sixth from 18 in chips and by the time the nine-handed final table was reached, Cimbolas was third in chips thanks in part to busting European Poker Tour (EPT) founder John Duthie in 10th place when he hit a set of sevens on the river to beat Duthie's flopped two pair.

2015 Sky Poker UKPC High Roller Final Table

1Jeremy Nock150,000
2Enzo Gomez500,000
3Matas Cimbolas450,000
4Keith Johnson100,000
5Alex Goulder90,000
6James Clarke200,000
7Steven Warburton100,000
8Andy Bacon600,000
9Stuart Fox120,000

Steven Warburton was the first to bust and he was followed to the rail by Stuart Fox. The latter will count himself massively unlucky to have crashed out in eighth place not least because he held {a-}{a-} as he busted. Those aces found themselves all-in against the {k-}{9-} of Keith Johnson and the {a-Clubs}{9-Clubs} of start-of-the-day chip leader Enzo Gomez.

Johnson turned trip kings to treble up, then Gomez spiked a flush on the river to win the substantial side pot and Fox was shot down.

Last year's champion, Jeremy Nock, then pushed {a-}{k-} into Cimbolas' {a-}{a-} to leave the tournament on the money bubble. That bubble popped when Andy Bacon raised and Johnson called from the small blind. Johnson checked the {a-Clubs}{10-Diamonds}{j-Clubs} flop and then check-raised all-in for 177,000 after Bacon made a 45,000 continuation bet. Bacon called with {k-}{10-} and was rewarded with a straight-completing queen on the river.

Fifth place, and £10,000, went to Alex Goulder who got his short stack into the middle with {j-}{j-} versus the {5-}{5-} of Cimbolas and the latter flopped a set.

Gomez was the next player to fall at Cimbolas' hands. All the chips went in on a {4-}{5-}{6-} flop, Gomez holding pocket kings and Cimbolas {9-}{7-}. The board paired with the {4-} on the turn, and Cimbolas improved to a straight on the {8-} river to leave only three players in the High Roller.

James Clarke crashed out in third place, Bacon being his executioner, leaving Cimbolas and Bacon to battle for the title. Cimbolas brushed Bacon aside to collect the winner's trophy and a cool £60,000 in prize money.

2015 Sky Poker UKPC High Roller Results

1Matas Cimbolas£60,000
2Andy Bacon£36,000
3James Clarke£24,000
4Enzo Gomez£15,000
5Alex Goulder£10,000

Robert White Soars Into Main Event Lead

Day 1b of the £1 million guaranteed 2015 Sky Poker UK Poker Championships Main Event took place while the High Roller was reaching its thrilling conclusion. By the time the registration desk pulled its shutters down 122 entries were logged, taking the total to 188 after two of the four start days. This means 812 entries are needed across Day 1c and 1d otherwise Rob Yong and co. are looking at a hefty overlay.

Twenty eight players progressed from Day 1b with Robert White soaring into the chip lead with a massive stack of 700,500. White is regular at DTD and has done his chances of a huge score no harm at all by getting out of the blocks faster than Usain Bolt.

Joining White on Saturday's Day 2 are such luminaries as Senh Man Ung (448,500), Dutch legend Marcel Luske (262,000), Mudasser Hussain (255,500), Leo McClean (218,500), Richard Trigg (216,500), Ludovic Geilich (214,500), Christopher Brammer (138,500), Martyn Frey (102,000), Ben Dobson (101,000) and Nick Hicks (29,500).

2015 Sky Poker UK Poker Championship Day 1b Top 10 Chip Counts

1Robert White700,500
2Senh Man Ung448,500
3Mohammed Sajawal342,000
5Stacy Coore287,000
6Chris Piercey272,500
7Marcel Luske262,000
8Mudasser Hussain255,500
9Ian Burdon239,500
10Tan Le235,500

Day 1c kicks off at 1:00pm on February 26 and should be the busiest starting flight thus far. Day 1b bustees such as Charlie Combes, reigning champion Alex Spencer, Ben Vinson, Neil Channing, Morten Mortensen, Jareth East, Mitch Johnson, Rhys Jones, and Jonathan Spinks likely to take another bite at the £1 million cherry.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

Name Surname

More Stories

Other Stories