Now LiveEvents
PokerStars Championship Prague
New poker experience at 888poker

Join now to get $88 FREE (no deposit needed)

Join now
Double your first deposit up to $400

New players can use bonus code 'STARS400'

Join now
partypoker Cashback

Get up to 40% back every week!

Join now
€200 progressive bonus

+ a FREE Unibet Open Qualifier ticket

Join now

Armenia's John Yadgar Leads Final 16 of the 2014 Unibet Open London

John Yadgar

Day 2 of the 2014 Unibet Open London played out at a frantic pace and it needed to because 140 players returned to the Aspers casino in Stratford, packing the venue to the rafters. By the time tournament director John Scanlon called time on proceedings only 16 of those 140 returnees remained in the hunt for the £70,000 first place prize.

Leading those 16 back into battle on Day 3 is John Yadgar who made the trip to London from Armenia. Yadgar excelled on Day 2 and finished with the welcome problem of having to fit 1,318,000 chips into his overnght chip back.

A quick search of the internet for information on Yadgar yields nothing, but it will do once this tournament is over because he is guaranteed a flag on his Hendon Mob page and a score of at least £3,400 and possibly as much as £70,000.

Two other players start Day 3 with seven-figures stacks, those big stacked souls being Tomasz Kozub (1,177,000) and Lawrie Inman (1,172,000). Both players will fancy their chances of becoming a Unibet Open winner.

Notables to look out for on the final day's play include the 2008 Unibet Open Madrid runner-up Tim van de Riet (919,000), former WPT Amneville champion Adrien Allain (862,000), Mike “Da Bookie” Hill (730,000), Charalampos Lappas (501,000) and Iaran Lightbourne (477,000).

2014 Unibet London Main Event Day 3 Chip Counts

1John Yadgar1,318,000
2Tomasz Kozub1,177,000
3Lawrie Inman1,172,000
4Lucas Oliver991,000
5Tim van de Riet919,000
6Adrien Allain862,000
7Niklas Borg835,000
8Mike Hill730,000
9Mohammed Suhail637,000
10Richard Pullen612,000
11Charalampos Lappas501,000
12Andrey Veselov496,000
13Michael Panteli489,000
14Iaran Lightbourne477,000
15Paulo Rodrigues291,000
16Janos Kutosi46,000

Play resumes at 2:00 p.m. on Sunday and continues for as long as it takes for one man to win all of the chips in play. Who will the 2014 Unibet Open London champion be? Tune into UK & Ireland PokerNews on Monday to find out.

Lead image courtesy of Tambet Kask of the Unibet Open blog

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

More Stories

Related Tournaments

Other Stories

What do you think?