Charlie Carrel Leads Final 20 of the 2014 GUKPT Grand Final

Charlie Carrel

Online star Charlie “Epiphany77” Carrel is the man to catch going into the final day's play in the 2014 Grosvenor UK Poker Tour (GUKPT) Grand Final at The Poker Room, London where only 20 players remain in contention for the £122,900 first place prize.

Carrel has had a meteoric rise to stardom in the online poker world, climbing from micro stakes to the $25/$50 games in on a couple of years. Now he has the chance to further boost his glowing reputation by taking down one of the toughest tournaments held in the UK this year.

Armed with 561,000 chips, Carrel holds a slender lead over the seasoned Pyrian de Mel on 558,000. De Mel has more than $770,000 in live tournament winnings, a figure helped by his two GUKPT titles. In 2009, de Mel won the GUKPT Blackpool Main Event then in 2010 took down the Bolton leg for combined scores of almost £130,000.

Despite holding the only stacks over 500,000 chips, Carrel and de Mel are not going to have it their own way when play resumes on Day 3 of the Grand Final thanks to some of the region's most talented players joining them at the felt.

Will Kassouf (377,500), Stuart Fox (365,500), 2014 partypoker WPT UK third place finisher Tamer Kamel (345,000), 2013 World Series of Poker Europe Main Event champion Adrian Mateos (230,500), Ben Vinson (130,000), and Paul Vas Nunes (129,000) are some of those who will have a major say in where the title finishes up.

Each of the returning 20 players has locked up at least £4,700 so far after the bubble burst on the last hand of Day 2. Harry Law burst the bubble, jamming his short stack into the middle with {Q-Spades}{J-Hearts}and being looked up by Walid Sawaya and his {10-Diamonds}{10-Spades}. A tens-friendly {7-Spades}{8-Clubs}{5-Hearts}{7-Clubs}{8-Diamonds} board sent 2014 GUKPT Leeds winner Law to the rail in 21st place and brought Day 2 to a close.

2014 GUKPT Grand Final End of Day 2 Chip Counts

1Charlie Carrel561,000
2Priyan de Mel558,000
3Khoa Nguyen434,500
4Robin Fisher427,000
5Will Kassouf377,500
6Stuart Fox365,500
7Tamer Kamel345,000
8Alex Bounsall299,000
9Walid Sawaya261,500
10John Bousfield236,500
11Adrian mateos230,500
12Paul Byrne207,000
13David Maudlin192,500
14Abi Khaitan191,000
15Juan Bernito162,000
16Ben Vinson130,000
17Paul Vas Nunes129,000
18Lousie Duffy79,500
19Matryn Fuller65,000
20Sandiep Khosa59,700

Play resumes at 12:00 pm on Sunday afternoon and continues until a champion is crowned. Join us on Monday 1 December to discover who that champion is.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories