WSOP 2018
2018 World Series of Poker

Alan Daly Leads as 2014 IPO Killarney Reaches Its Final Table

Alan Daly

Only eight players remain in the hunt for the title of 2014 IPO Killarney champion at the close of the second day’s play. Leading those eight players into battle on Monday afternoon is Alan Daly who ended Day 2 with a stack of 2,110,000.

On Sunday, 150 players returned to their seat with each sharing the common goal of reaching the money places. There were plenty of eliminations as players attempted to build a stack hefty enough to see them through to the latter stages of the €200 buy-in event, but the most important bust out was that of Poland’s Adrian Adryjanek.

The reason for the importance of Adryjanek’s exit was it was the one that burst the money bubble. He was all in for 57,000 chips with {A-Diamonds}{Q-Clubs} and looked in great shape to double through Alan Daly who held the dominated {A-Clubs}{5-Hearts}. The {J-Hearts}{4-Hearts}{J-Clubs} flop seemed innocuous enough, but the {K-Hearts} gave Daly the chance of a flush. After burning a card, the dealer placed the flush-completing {4-Hearts} onto the river, busting Adryjanek and opening the floodgates for players wanting prize money.

Players headed for the cashier’s desk in droves and the flow of eliminations didn’t slow down until 12:40am on Monday morning when Gavin Murphy three-bet all-in from the small blind after a button raise from Liam Delaney, an all-in bet that Delaney called.

Murphy flipped over {K-Spades}{10-Spades} and was in a whole world of trouble against Delaney’s {K-}{K-}. By the river the board read {A-Spades}{7-Diamonds}{4-Diamonds}{7-Hearts}{2-Hearts}, which kept Delaney’s kings in front and sent Murphy to the sidelines with the title of final table bubble boy.

As mentioned, Alan Daly is the man at the top of the chip counts going into the eight-handed final table, a position that is not alien to him after he reached the finale of the IPO Dublin Main Event in 2013.

Joining Daly at the final table are Alan Flannery, John Hanaphy, Liam Delaney, Geoff Healy – who reached the finale of the IPO Galway a few months ago – Tadhg Ryan, Ciaran Cooney and Paul O’Brien.

Each of the eight finalists are guaranteed €2,255 and this tidy sum increases steadily until the eventual champion receives €20,250 and bragging rights of becoming an Irish Poker Open champion.

Play resumes at 2:00pm on Monday afternoon and continues until a winner is crowned. Who will that winner be? Return to UK & Ireland PokerNews on Tuesday to find out.

2014 IPO Killarney Final Table Chip Counts

Alan Daly2,110,000
Alan Flannery2,040,000
John Hanaphy1,770,000
Liam Delaney1,730,000
Geoff Healy1,050,000
Tadhg Ryan990,000
Ciaran Cooney880,000
Paul O’Brien605,000

Lead image courtesy of Danny Maxwell of the Boyle Poker Blog

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories