PokerStars EPT Prague WSOP International Circuit Sydney

British Poker Awards: Who Do You Think Will Win?

British Poker Awards: Who Do You Think Will Win? 0001

The 2013 British Poker Awards are only days away so it is about time I stuck my neck out and offered my thoughts about who I think will win each category. The awards ceremony takes place on March 3 at The Hippodrome Casino and should see some of the crème de la crème of British poker descend on the venue to celebrate another superb year of British poker.

Without further ado, here are the categories, nominations and my predictions.

Best Live Tournament Player

  • Matthew Ashton
  • Stephen Chidwick
  • David Vamplew
  • Toby Lewis
  • Matt Perrins
  • Sam Trickett

This is a fiercely contested category and one that is going to be very close, but I’d give it to Stephen Chidwick thanks to his performances at the 2013 World Series of Poker and his late double final table appearance during the Eureka Poker Tour and European Poker Tour Prague Main Events.

Best Online Tournament Player

  • Chris “Moorman1” Moorman
  • Christopher “NigDawG” Brammer
  • Charlie “chaz_man_chaz” Combes
  • Andrew “stato_1” Hulme
  • Craig “mcc3991” McCorkell
  • Toby “810ofclubs” Lewis

Again, another closely fought category but one that I think Chris Moorman will come out on top of. Each of the nominated players had some superb results in 2013, results that saw Toby Lewis crowned Online Player of the year at the European Poker Awards in January, but I think Moorman will ship this award with the majority of the voting coming from those on home soil.

Best Online Cash Player

  • Alexander “Kanu7” Millar
  • Rob “Vaga_Lion” Akery
  • David “SexyGee” Gent
  • Ben “Milkybarkid” Grundy
  • Matthew “MUSTAFABET” Ashton

Cash game players are rarely in the spotlight as much as tournament players so it is good to see them have their own category. I can see Alex Millar taking this one down mainly due to him being more well-known thanks to being made part of Team PokerStars Online, even if I do personally think David Gent should win this particular category.

Performance of the Year

  • Matthew Ashton
  • Matt Perrins
  • Barny Boatman
  • David Vamplew
  • Stephen Chidwick

This should be another tight category that could go either way. I see Barny Boatman winning this one thanks to his WSOP bracelet win. That said, Matthew Ashton’s victory in the $50,000 Poker Players Championship was an amazing result. Boatman by a whisker.

Best UK Tournament

  • ISPT Wembley
  • EPT London
  • UKIPT Nottingham
  • GUKPT Goliath
  • DTD Grand Prix

I can’t see anything other than an ISPT Wembley victory here. Yes, it was shrouded in controversy. Yes, it had a ridiculous overlay. But it was a completely bonkers idea that was also amazing to be part of. Walking onto the Wembley pitch, drinking a beer, watching England on the big screen and the not so little matter of a massive poker tournament taking place in giant inflatable domes, means this category is a no brainer.

Poker Personality of the Year

  • Jake Cody
  • Sam Grafton
  • Neil Channing
  • Liv Boeree
  • Sam Razavi

In a time when characters are few and far between in poker, this category could be vital to future sponsorship deals and endorsements. Everyone on the list puts themselves out there into the public domain, yet something tells me that the hilarious Sam Grafton – the ring leader of the infamous Brit rails – is going to secure this gong.

Best International Player

  • David “Bakes” Baker
  • Dan “djk123” Kelly
  • Viktor Blom
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • Marvin Rettenmaier

Team PokerStars Pro Daniel Negreanu has to win this one after having one of his best years ever. Negreanu won over $3.2 million, won two WSOP bracelets and had countless other big scores in some of the toughest tournaments around the globe.

Best Poker League

  • Champions Poker League
  • Discover Poker League
  • Live Pub Poker League
  • Nuts Poker League
  • Redtooth Poker

I know absolutely nothing about pub poker leagues so will go with the a toss up between the two I have heard of, Nuts and Redtooth. Heads is Nuts, Tails is Redtooth. *drum roll* Heads and Nuts it is then.

Best Blogger

  • David Nicholson
  • Kara Scott
  • Dale Philip
  • Rupert Elder
  • Neil Channing

Being a fellow Leeds lad, I have to side with David “Lil Dave” Nicholson here. Bias aside, Nicholson’s recollections and musings are so full of enthusiasm and he has such a strong following that it has to be “Lil Dave.”

Best Social Media User

  • Sam Razavi
  • Sam Grafton
  • The Betfair Poker Twitter account
  • Victoria Coren
  • Neil Channing

This is one category that is going to be extremely close with only a couple of votes being the difference between winning and finishing second. Although the Betfair Poker Twitter account isn’t to everyone’s taste, I find them hilarious at times and by choosing them I don’t have to single out any living person!

Best Live Card Room

  • Dusk Till Dawn
  • The Vic
  • The Hippodrome
  • Aspers Stratford
  • G Casino Coventry

Surely this award has to be heading to Nottingham and the team at Dusk Till Dawn. The casino continues to push the boundaries for the good of British poker and they would be a worthy champion.

If all of the Aspers Stratford faithful voted en masse, then they could sneak it, but I’ll still go with DTD.

Best Poker Software

  • Holdem Manager
  • PokerTracker
  • Flopzilla
  • NoteCaddy
  • PokerStove

For me this has to be PokerTracker. It’s the software I use and I think that it is the number one piece of poker software out there right now.

Best Poker Training Site

  • Run It Once
  • Poker X Factor
  • Cardrunners
  • Leggo Poker
  • DeucesCracked

Phil Galfond’s Run It Once has this one in the bag. It’s selection of pros is superb and the fact it is available to fishes like me for $9.99 per month means I love them!

Tickets are still available for the awards ceremony via the Hippodrome store. If you are heading down for the awards, don’t forget there is a specially arrange bounty tournament taking place that sees Team PokerStars Online Mickey Petersen and Sam Grafton have a bounty on their heads – a satellite to the Hippodrome Spring Classic to anyone who knocks them out – while the eventual champion of the tournament wins a £250 seat to the Hippodrome Spring Classic Main Event.

Do you agree with my choices or have I got them completely wrong? Let me know in the comments box below.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories