British Poker Awards Take Place at the Hippodrome on March 3

The Hippodrome Casino

The 2013 British Poker Awards take place at The Hippodrome Casino on March 3 and will celebrate the best that British Poker has to offer.

I was asked to make up part of the nomination panel last October and proudly accepted. Although I may be slightly biased on this occasion, I do feel that the nomination panel have got the nominations in each category spot on and whoever wins their respective category will have done so on merit and will be a worthy recipient of their trophy.

One of the most fiercely contested categories is the Personality of the Year award, which was won by Team PokerStars Pro Liv Boeree in 2012. Boeree is once again nomination and goes up against the legendary Neil “Bad Beat” Channing, the ever-smiling Sam Grafton and Sam Razavi.

The public vote is now closed so if you wanted to have your say it is unfortunately too late, all we have to do now is wait until March 3 to discover the winners of the 2013 British Poker Awards. It will be interesting to see if the likes of Stephen Chidwick, Toby Lewis and Barny Boatman can add British Poker Awards to the Global Poker Index European Poker Awards they picked up a few short weeks ago.

The crème de la crème of British poker will be in attendance at the Hippodrome Casino and you can be too if you purchase a ticket in advance for the measly sum of only £20. You’re urged to book sooner rather than later to avoid disappointment.

For a recap of the categories and the nominations for each, scan your eyes down this page and take in all the characters.

Best Live Tournament Player

  • Matthew Ashton
  • Stephen Chidwick
  • David Vamplew
  • Toby Lewis
  • Matt Perrins
  • Sam Trickett

Best Online Tournament Player

  • Chris “Moorman1” Moorman
  • Christopher “NigDawG” Brammer
  • Charlie “chaz_man_chaz” Combes
  • Andrew “stato_1” Hulme
  • Craig “mcc3991” McCorkell
  • Toby “810ofclubs” Lewis

Best Online Cash Player

  • Alexander “Kanu7” Millar
  • Rob “Vaga_Lion” Akery
  • David “SexyGee” Gent
  • Ben “Milkybarkid” Grundy
  • Matthew “MUSTAFABET” Ashton

Performance of the Year

  • Matthew Ashton
  • Matt Perrins
  • Barny Boatman
  • David Vamplew
  • Stephen Chidwick

Best UK Tournament

  • ISPT Wembley
  • EPT London
  • UKIPT Nottingham
  • GUKPT Goliath
  • DTD Grand Prix

Poker Personality of the Year

  • Jake Cody
  • Sam Grafton
  • Neil Channing
  • Liv Boeree
  • Sam Razavi

Best International Player

  • David “Bakes” Baker
  • Dan “djk123” Kelly
  • Viktor Blom
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • Marvin Rettenmaier

Best Poker League

  • Champions Poker League
  • Discover Poker League
  • Live Pub Poker League
  • Nuts Poker League
  • Redtooth Poker

Best Blogger

  • David Nicholson
  • Kara Scott
  • Dale Philip
  • Rupert Elder
  • Neil Channing

Best Social Media User

  • Sam Razavi
  • Sam Grafton
  • The Betfair Poker Twitter account
  • Victoria Coren
  • Neil Channing

Best Live Card Room

  • Dusk Till Dawn
  • The Vic
  • The Hippodrome
  • Aspers Stratford
  • G Casino Coventry

Best Poker Software

  • Holdem Manager
  • PokerTracker
  • Flopzilla
  • NoteCaddy
  • PokerStove

Best Poker training Site

  • Run It Once
  • Poker X Factor
  • Cardrunners
  • Leggo Poker
  • DeucesCracked

UK & Ireland PokerNews wishes each of the nominees the best of luck and for you folks at home not attending the awards ceremony, don’t forget to lock your browsers to our pages so that you can see if your favourite player picks up a gong or not.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories