WSOP 2018
2018 World Series of Poker

Jerome Guermeur Wins the Winamax Poker Open in Dublin

Jerome Guermeur

The Regency Hotel in Dublin, Ireland played host to the 2013 Winamax Poker Open (WPO) where 1,086 players, the majority of who were French, exchanged €550 for the chance to become a WPO champion.

It took four days of intense poker action to whittle the 1,086 starters down to the eventual champion, that champion being Jerome Guermeur. After winning a satellite on the Winamax online poker site, Guermeur made the relatively short trip to Dublin and tasted success for the second time. In 2010, Guermeur finished second in the €270 Winamax Short-Handed Poker Championships for €5,620 and now he has a massive €80,000 cash to his name after winning the 2012 Winamax Poker Open.

Making Guermeur’s victory all the more sweeter was the fact he held his own at a final table that was the home to double World Series of Poker bracelet winner Michael Gathy, Marc Macdonnell and Guermeur’s heads-up opponent Team Winamax Pro Sylvian Loosli.

Loosli’s name should be familiar with poker fans due to his remarkable performance in the 2013 WSOP Main Event. Loosli heads to Las Vegas, Nevada in a few weeks’ time to complete the WSOP Main Event where is starts sixth in chips and has a realistic chance of returning to France with a coveted gold WSOP bracelet and the gargantuan $8,359,531 first place prize.

The heads-up battle between Guermeur and Looslu spanned three long hours and was settled, as many tournaments are, by a coinflip scenario. All the chips went into the middle of the felt, Loosli holding a pair of tens and Geurmeur king-jack, The tens stayed best on the {2-}{2-}{3-} flop, but a king on the turn propelled the satellite winner into the lead. It was a lead that he kept as an eight landed on the river, busting Loosli in second place and leaving Geurmeur to bask in the glory of winning such a prestigious event.

2013 Winamax Poker Open Final Table Results

1stJerome Guermeur€75,000
2ndSylvian Loosli€60,000
3rdPierre Bierou€40,000
4thMarc Macdonnell€30,000
5thWilliam Mauriaucourt€24,000
6thMicheal Gathy€19,000

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories