WSOP 2018
2018 World Series of Poker

Frenchman Seb Kerrien Wins the APAT 2013 Irish National Poker Championship

Frenchman Seb Kerrien Wins the APAT 2013 Irish National Poker Championship 0001

The Fitzwilliam Card Club, Dublin, Ireland hosted the APAT 2013 Irish National Poker Championship, where almost 100 runners gathered to play the 2-day deepstack spectacular in the latest event of the APAT Season 7 calendar.

APAT National Championships always attracts players from far and wide and this event was no exception, as players from the UK travelled to the Emerald Isle to take on the Irish contingent along with players from France, Germany, Poland and even Latvia, emphasizing APAT’s ever-growing reputation across Europe.

It seemed from the get-go that the French players were determined to stamp their authority on the tournament; Elie Bonnamour took an early chip lead that would see him well through Day 1 and into Day 2. Indeed, of the 27 players who returned for Day 2, France had the biggest number of players remaining, although Dublin native Rachel Samuels held the chip lead overnight on 114,300.

Sadly, Samuels couldn’t maintain her Day 1 dominance and fell in 11th place. Patrick Piednoel busted in 10th place shortly after and the final table was set.

Latvian player Sindijs Anspoks and Frenchman Seb Kerrien were the two biggest stacks when play resumed on the final table and, although both suffered a number of highs and lows, both eventually made it to the heads up battle to determine the champion. By this stage, Seb Kerrien had established a 2:1 chip lead over Sindijs and was relentless in his pursuit of the remaining chips in play and Anspoks seemingly had little answer to Kerrien inexorable pressure. When Anspoks finally made a stand, Kerrien managed to river a straight with {K-Spades}{9-Spades} to best the {A-}{3-} of Anspoks and Kerrien, from Normandy, France was declared the Champion!

2013 Irish Amateur Poker Championship Results

1Seb Kerrien (FRA)€2,020 + APAT Gold Medal + WCOAP National Championship Seat
2Sindijs Anspoks (LAT)€1,225 + APAT Silver Medal
3Don Roberts (ENG)€815 + APAT Bronze Medal
4Andrew Duncan (ENG)€525
5Frank Piednoel (FRA)€405
6James Kemp (ENG)€290
7David Smith (IRE)€230
8Hugh Cairnie (SCO)€175
9Brian Kiely (IRE)€115
10Patrick Piednoel (FRA)€50

The APAT Tour next moves on to the Alea Casino, Glasgow over the weekend of November 2-4th 2013 for the Scottish Amateur Poker Championship. For full details of this event, and to reserve your seat, visit

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories