Now LiveEvents
PokerStars Championship Prague
New poker experience at 888poker

Join now to get $88 FREE (no deposit needed)

Join now
Double your first deposit up to $400

New players can use bonus code 'STARS400'

Join now
partypoker Cashback

Get up to 40% back every week!

Join now
€200 progressive bonus

+ a FREE Unibet Open Qualifier ticket

Join now

2013 APAT World Championships: Erimas Livonas wins the Main Event

2013 APAT World Championships: Erimas Livonas wins the Main Event 0001

The APAT World Championships Of Amateur Poker (WCOAP) came to a thrilling conclusion last night with Lithuania’s Erimas Livonas stealing the show by taking down the £110 buy-in Main Event.

Sixty-four of the 451 starters returned to the Dusk Till Dawn poker club in Nottingham yesterday and they battled it out for the £10,000 first place prize, a ISPT Day 2 seat (worth €3,000), the coveted APAT gold medal and a fantastic custom-made commemorative bracelet created by Kevin Smith of Aspire Jewellery.

Throughout proceedings Livonas bamboozled his opponents with his unconventional, yet highly effective, style of play and he ran out a deserved winner. Livonas outlasted fellow final table members Ian Bills, Ryunosuke Mason-Brown, Mark Crump, Mike Sweeney, David Denny, Raj Dhiri and his heads-up opponent, Tod Wood.

2013 APAT World Championships: Erimas Livonas wins the Main Event 101
Erimas Livonas

1stErimas Livonas£10,000
2ndTod Wood£5,900
3rdRaj Dhiri£3,700
4thDavid Denny£2,800
5thMike Sweeney£2,100
6thMark Crump£1,600
7thRyunosuke Mason-Brown£1,300
8thIan Bills£1,025

2013 APAT World Championships: Erimas Livonas wins the Main Event 102
Weswell Ellis

WCOAP Heads Up Championship

The heads up championship completely sold out with 64 players batting it out one-on-one for the title and the glory. The eventual champion was a Dusk Till Dawn regular in the shape of Weswell Ellis, who defeated Vikrum Mehta in the final matches to secure victory. Mehta had a great WCOAP having finished as runner-up in the WCOAP Seven Card Stud event.

1stWeswell Ellis£1,100
2ndVikrum Mehta£700
3rdKevin O’Hanlon£450

2013 APAT World Championships: Erimas Livonas wins the Main Event 103
Michael Perry

WCOAP Omaha Championship

Mike Perry made the long journey north from Southampton to compete in the WCOAP and the poker gods must have been pleased as Perry went on to win the WCOAP Omaha Championship.

A total of 113 players turned out for the £55 buy-in four-card craziness, thanks in part to there being an ISPT Day 1 seat added to the prize pool. That seat, of course, secured by Perry who defeated Derek Rowland heads-up for the title.

1stMichael Perry£1,666.75
2ndDerek Rowland£971.80
3rdAlberto Herranz Sanchez£627.15
4thJohn Burberry£468.95
5thDan Dennehy£250.30
6thRobert Gerrard£288.15
7thIain Wilson£242.95
8thShane Pollington£197.75

2013 APAT World Championships: Erimas Livonas wins the Main Event 104
Joanna Sharp

WCOAP Razz Championship

A compact but talented field of 32 players turned out for the Razz event and Joanna Sharp outlasted all of them. Here reward was almost £600 in cash, a gold medal and an Aspire Jewellery bracelet.

1stJoanna Sharp£592.00
2ndSimon Lawlor£416.00
3rdMark Lassman£320.00
4thDuncan Hodgkins£160.00
5thGary Phillips£112.00

APAT Award Winners 2013

Over the past few weeks, the APAT community had been casting its votes for a number of categories and the awards were distributed at the WCOAP.

  • Best Online Poker Room: PokerStars
  • Best Poker Community: Blonde Poker
  • Best Poker Venue: Dusk Till Dawn, Nottingham
  • Best Media Provider: Barry Carter of PokerStrategy (UK PokerNews was a close second)
  • APAT Forum Contributor of the Year: Ger Smyth
  • APAT Breakthrough Player of the Year: Suzanne Hayward
  • APAT Member Performance of the Year: David Amos
  • APAT player of the Year: Carl Pilgrim
  • APAT Hall of Fame Entrant: Paul Davis

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

More Stories

Related Tournaments

Other Stories

What do you think?