PokerStars EPT Prague WSOP International Circuit Sydney

Chiraag Thanki Leads as GUKPT London Main Event Reaches Final Day

Chiraag Thanki Leads as GUKPT London Main Event Reaches Final Day 0001

Just 21 players remain in the 2013 Grosvenor UK Poker Tour London Main Event after Day 2 came and went on Saturday. Leading the way going into today’s final day is Chiraag Thanki and his 762,500 stack.

According to The Hendon Mob database, Thanki has no major live cashes to speak of, although that will change when the results from this tournament are uploaded. Thanki has secured a cash of at least £2,780 for his efforts so far, but if he goes all the way in this tournament his first recorded cash will be for an impressive £103,240.

In second place going into Day 3 is David Barraclough and his 617,000 stack. As you can see, Barraclough trails the chip leader by almost 150,000 chips, but Barraclough is anything but short stacked and is in a great position to at least reach the final table.

Also still in with a realistic chance of GUKPT glory are Tamer Kamel (570,000) who finished sixth in this very event back in 2011; Marc “dean23price” Wright (502,000); Jamie Roberts (470,000); Kevin Williams (338,000); Steve Watts (266,000) and double World Poker Tour champion Marvin Rettenmaier (254,500).

It was Rettenmaier who burst the money bubble, sending Umberan Akhtar to the rail. Akhtar committed his stack with {A-}{Q-} and Rettenmaier looked him up with the dominated {K-}{Q-}. The flop contained a king and Akhtar’s tournament came to an abrupt end in 39th place and sent the Rettenmaier parody Twitter account into overdrive! Rettenmaier managed to progress to Day 3 and will start with 280,000 chips.

The third and final day’s play begins at 14:00 today at the Grosvenor Victoria Casino –The Vic – where the live stream should be up and running on the GUKPT site for those of you wishing to view the action. Be sure to check back to UK & Ireland PokerNews tomorrow morning for a recap of Day 3’s action.

GUKPT London top 10 chip counts

1Chiraag Thanki762,500
2David Barraclough617,000
3Tamer Kamel570,000
4Antonio Millan529,000
5Ashley Thompson505,000
6Marc Wright502,000
7Martin Bader493,000
8Paul Alterman442,500
9Jeff Duval415,000
10Andy Efstathiou367,500

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories