WPT National Dublin Day 2: Sean Prendiville Leads Final 10

Sean Prendiville

The World Poker Tour national Series Dublin main event played out its penultimate day yesterday, where 89 players were whittled down to just 10. Leading them back into battle this afternoon is Sean “The Goat” Prendiville.

Local player Prendiville will start Day 3 armed with 1,150,000 chips, narrowly in front of Jack Salter on 1,054,000. Part of Prendiville’s stack formerly belonged to Simon King, who earned the unwanted title of “bubble boy” in this tournament. King got his chips in with {K-Hearts}{Q-Hearts} against the {9-Hearts}{9-Spades} of Prendiville and when he couldn’t get there, King became the 28th place finisher and everyone else was guaranteed some prize money.

The overnight chip leader, Jeremy Nock, was looking to improve on his recent third place finish at the WPT Mazagan main event, but the property developer endured a torrid time at the tables. Two clashes with Joachim Haraldstad saw him go from hero to zero, the last of Nock’s chips went into the middle whilst holding pocket kings and he ran straight into aces. Nock was sent to the rail, while Haraldstad navigated his way through to Day 3 where he will start third in chips.

Another player who was flying high at the start of the day was Jude Ainsworth, but he will not be present on the final day’s play. Ainsworth managed to make it into the money places, finishing in 22nd place for a €2,650 score.

Each of the 10 players who will return to the Citywest Hotel at 12:00 this afternoon will do so safe in the knowledge that they have locked up €4,900 for their efforts so far. They will also be more than aware they are just nine eliminations away from the €67,500 first place prize and title of WPTN Dublin champion.

WPTN Dublin End of Day 2 Chip Counts

1Sean Prendiville1,150,000
2Jack Salter1,054,000
3Joachim Haraldstad933,000
4Simon Deadman734,000
5Fintan Gavin450,000
6Tommy O’Rourke433,000
7Charley Harvey393,000
8Ben Carpenter335,000
9Daniel Laming324,000
10Phillip Danner169,000

WPTN Dublin Day 3 Seat Draw

11Charley Harvey393,000
13Jack Salter1,054,000
15Simon Deadman734,000
17Joachim Haraldstad933,000
19Sean Prendiville1,150,000
21Fintan Gavin450,000
23Phillip Danner169,000
25Tommy O’Rourke433,000
27Ben Carpenter335,000
29Daniel Laming324,000

Data from the Irish Poker Boards site was used in creating this article. Lead image remains property of Irish Poker Boards.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories