Live Events 3

Simon Deadman Wins WPT National Series Dublin Main Event

Simon Deadman

Simon Deadman has got off to a great start in 2013 and is the new World Poker Tour National Series Dublin main event champion. Deadman bested a talented final table on Sunday to walk away with the trophy, bragging rights and €67,500 in prize money.

The final day’s play in the WPT Dublin main event saw 10 players return to the Citywest Hotel, led by Sean Prediville. Also making it through to the Sunday’s Day 3 were the likes of former PokerStars UKIPT Edinburgh champion Fintan Gavin, Ben Carpenter and Jack Salter. Each of those aforementioned players would go on to reach the eight-handed final table.

Charley Harvey was the first player of the day to be eliminated and Phillip Danner followed him to the rail shortly after. With Danner’s elimination the final table was set and streamed live on PKR – the tournament’s sponsor.

Under the glare of the cameras the players began to fall by the wayside, the prize money increasing ever upwards as they did so. Fintan Gavin busted out in eighth place and he was joined on the sidelines – via the cashier cage, of course – first by Daniel Laming then by Tommy O’Rourke, Ben Carpenter and Jack Salter. Irish eyes were on Sean Prendiville, who was the last Irish player in the field, but hopes of having the trophy stay on home soil were soon dashed when their hero was sent packing in third place.

This left Deadman and Joachim Haraldstad to battle it out heads-up for the title and the lion’s share of the prize pool. The turning point of the one-on-one encounter saw the chips go into the middle of the felt on a {k-Hearts}{8-Clubs}{5-Hearts} flop, Deadman holding {k-}{q-} for top pair and Haraldstad {7-Hearts}{3-Hearts} for a heart flush draw. The turn and river bricked and Haraldstad was left nursing a short stack.

Haraldstad did find a double up soon after, but it was too little too late because his stack was put on the line holding {k-}{10-} to Deadman’s {10-}{9-}. A nine made an appearance on the flop and a king was nowhere to be seen, eliminating Haraldstad and leaving Deadman to celebrate becoming WPTN Dublin champion.

WPTN Dublin Top 10 Finishers

1Simon Deadman€67,500
2Joachim Haraldstad€47,100
3Sean Prendiville€30,250
4Jack Salter€22,350
5Ben Carpenter€16,750
6Tommy O’Rourke€13,750
7Daniel Laming€11,250
8Fintan Gavin€8,900
9Phillip Danner€6,700
10Charley Harvey€4,900

This latest result is one from a long line from Deadman, whose reputation for being a ferocious tournament player is increasing on a weekly basis. Deadman reached eight final tables in major live events during 2012 including a runner-up finish at the Genting Poker Series Stoke main event; a fourth place finish at GUKPT Coventry and an outright victory at the GUKPT Blackpool main event. It looks like Deadman has carried on his spectacular form into 2013, which is not good news for anyone who crosses his path.

Lead image courtesy of Danny Maxwell via Irish Poker Boards.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

Name Surname

More Stories

Other Stories