PokerStars EPT Prague WSOP International Circuit Sydney

Mark Delaney Wins the Inaugural D4 Events Amateur Championship of Poker

Mark Delaney

The inaugural D4 Events Amateur Championship of Poker (ACOP) took place over the weekend at the Regency Airport Hotel in Dublin. A total of 198 players bought in by the time registration had closed, creating a €32,670 prize pool that smashed the €25,000 guarantee. Walking away with €9,100 of that prize pool is Mark Delaney, the ACOP champion.

Day 1 saw the 198 strong field whittled down to a more manageable 75, of which 18 would make it into the money. Day 2 began at 13:00 on Sunday, and the players were flying out of the doors from the moment the tournament restarted. When only 20 players remained there was talk of a deal being made to pay out 19th and 20th places, but this was ultimate rejected.

Mark Delaney Wins the Inaugural D4 Events Amateur Championship of Poker 101
Willow Connolly

The player who this hurt the most was Willow Connolly, the lady who earned the unwanted title of bubble girl. She busted out when she called off her stack on a {4-Hearts}{2-Hearts}{4-Diamonds}{Q-Diamonds} with {K-Diamonds}{Q-Clubs} but was in awful shape against the {A-Hearts}{Q-Spades} of Conor Blain. The river was the {9-Spades}, eliminating Connolly and leaving the remaining players in the money.

Two hours after the bubble burst the nine –handed final table was set. This is how they lined up.

1Mark Delaney530,000
2Kieran Small2,180,000
3Shane Mullan615,000
4Henry Port380,000
5Michael O’Neill291,000
6Colm McCreary139,000
7Mark Spelman740,000
8Conor Blain302,000
9Sammy O’Brien715,000

The aforementioned Blain was the first casualty of the final table, his {9-Diamonds}{9-Hearts} falling foul to the {A-Clubs}{Q-Hearts} of Colm McCreary. Blain was followed the rail by Henry Port, Sammy O’Brien, Michael O’Neill and Mark Spelman.

With four players remaining, a deal was discussed, then agreed on that left €1,000 and the trophy up for grabs. McCreary, fresh from locking up the most money, was the fourth place finisher and when Shane Mullan busted out, heads-up was set.

Going into heads-up, Delaney held a commanding chip lead over Kieran Small, but Small put up a valiant fight to not only level up the match, but actually claim the lead for himself on more than one occasion. The final hand of the ACOP Main Event saw Delaney hold {Q-Clubs}{9-Hearts} and Small being all-in with {J-Diamonds}{10-Spades}. The board ran out {a-Clubs}{7-Clubs}{9-Spades}{A-Diamonds}{Q-Spades} and Delaney’s two pair were more than enough to see him crowned champion!

ACOP Main Event Final Table Payouts

1Mark Delaney€4,920*
2Kieran Small€5,250*
3Shane Mullan€5,650*
4Colm McCreary€6,415*
5Mark Spelman€2,200
6Michael O’Neill€1,670
7Sammy O’Brien€1,225
8Henry Port€900
9Conor Blain€690

*denotes four-way deal

Data courtesy of the ACOP Blog. Images with thanks to Danny Maxwell.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories