WSOP 2018
2018 World Series of Poker

Eoghan O’Dea Wins Top Honours At Irish Poker Awards

Eoghan O'Dea

The eagerly anticipated Irish Poker Awards took place over the weekend at the Regency Hotel, Dublin, where they featured alongside the International Poker Open.

The coveted Player Of The Year award went to former November Nine member Eoghan O’Dea. The Dubliner was already regarded as a top poker talent, one who had a runner-up finish in the 2009 World Poker Tour Marrakech main event before his sixth place finish at the 2011 World Series of Poker Main Event.

Picking up the award for the Best Tournament Player was Jason Tompkins, who almost went all the way in the recent European Poker Tour Sanremo main event, falling just short and busting in fifth place for a career-best live score of €171,000. UK & Ireland PokerNews believe it is only a matter of time before Tompkins takes down a live major and it appears the Irish poker community is of the same school of thought.

Team PokerStars Pro Jude Ainsworth collected the gong for Best Online Player, whilst Dara O’Kearney helped himself to two awards, one for Best Blogger and the other for Best Social Media User.

The full list of the Irish Poker Awards can be found below:

Best Cash Game PlayerChris Dowling
Best Tournament PlayerJason Tompkins
Best Breakout PlayerNiall Smyth
Best Online PlayerJude Ainsworth
Best Poker PersonalityPhil Baker
Best BloggerDara O’Kearney
Best Tournament DirectorJP McCann
Best Social Media UserDara O’Kearney
Player of the YearEoghan O’Dea
Best CardroomFitzwillam Club

There was also an award given out to the player voted the Irish Poker Legend by their peers. This accolade was bestowed on Padraig Parkinson who picked up his third award in two years.

Congratulations to everyone who picked up an award at the Irish Poker Awards.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories