Live Events 1

Paul McTaggart Wins The Genting Poker Series Edinburgh Main Event

Paul McTaggart

Whilst the players were battling it out in the various World Series of Poker events in Las Vegas and scrapping for chips in the Dusk Till Dawn 500 Deepstack there was another excellent tournament taking place just north of the border in Edinburgh – the third leg of the Genting Poker Series.

The £400+£30 Main Event attracted a total of 387 entries, which created a prize pool of £154,800. This was shared out amongst the top 42 finishers, a min-cash being worth £555 and steadily increasing from that point onwards.

Some of the players who made it through into the money places included Hendon Mobsters Joe Beevers (28th) and Barny Boatman (14th), Iwan Jones (22nd) and Matthew Milne (21st) but the majority of the attention was given to the gentlemen who made it onto the nine-handed final table. These nine players were each guaranteed £2,630 for their efforts over the weekend, the furst player to pick up this amount being Gavin Stevenson; the ninth place finisher.

Stevenson was joined on the rail by the likes of Michael Kemp, Robert Gregory, Paul Carnigie, Barry Burns, Christopher McNicholls and Steve Miller leaving Paul “Action” Jackson and Paul McTaggart to fight it out for the title. The heads-up pairing agreed to chop the winner's prize so that each would pick up £30,000 irrespective of their finishing positions but the winner would walk away with the extra £2,685 in cash, a trophy and the bragging right associated with winning a major live tournament.

Those bragging rights now belong to McTaggart as he managed to defeat Jackson after an exciting one-on-one battle. The final hand saw Jackson put the rest of his short stack itno the middle holding {8-}{6-} and being called by the {a-}{10-} of McTaggart. The board ran out {q-}{j-}{2-}{7-}{a-} and with that McTaggart became the Genting Poker Series Edinburgh champion.

Genting Poker Series Edinburgh Final Table Results

1stPaul McTaggart£32,685*
2ndPaul Jackson£30,000*
3rdSteve Miller£18,390
4thChristopher McNicholls£14,395
5thBarry Burns£11,455
6thPaul Carnegie£8,670
7thRobert Gregory£6,190
8thMichael Kemp£4,180
9thGavin Stevenson£2,630

The tour next drops anchor in Stoke between August 1-8.

Follow UK & Ireland PokerNews on Twitter and like us on Facebook to stay up-to-date with all of the latest poker news.

Name Surname

More Stories

Other Stories