WSOP 2018
2018 World Series of Poker

Andrew Jones Wins William Hill APAT Welsh Amateur Poker Championship

Andrew Jones (Photo: Richard Prew / APAT)

The weekend of May 26-27 brought 122 of the UK’s finest amateur poker players to the G Casino in Cardiff for the William Hill Welsh Amateur Poker Championship, the second stop in APAT’s sixth season.

Amongst the 122 competing players were former APAT Player of the year Warren Jones and former APAT Welsh Amateur Champion Gareth Johns. For their £75.00 + £7.50 buy in, players started the event with 15,000 chips on a generous 45-minute clock.

Day 1 saw 13 levels played, at which point the field had been whittled down to 31 players; who were led by Garry Wildin and JP Round.

Play was brisk at the start of Day 2, as the short-stacks looked double up and move up the chip counts. After four hours play, the final table was reached and they lined up follows:

APAT Welsh Championship Final Table

1Andrew Jones97,000
2Kevin O'Driscoll113,700
3David Jackson117,000
4Garry Wildin314,300
5JP Round256,200
6Warren Jones246,400
7Dan Carpenter372,900
8Jason Kemp188,900
9Jason Stephens120,600

Blinds began at 5,000-10,000, so the tournament was wide open. Over the first couple of levels David Jackson and then pre-final chip leaders Dan Carpenter and Garry Wildin exited, as fortunes fluctuated with short-stack double-ups. The major beneficiary was Andrew Jones, doubling several times.

Jason Kemp exited sixth, Jason Stephens in fifth and Warren Jones busted in fourth when he ran ace-five into Kevin O'Driscoll's dominating ace-queen.

Three handed, JP Round, a chip leader for much of the competition found himself as the short-stack and despite doubling through O'Driscoll early doors Andrew Jones knocked him out to take the tournament to the heads-up stage.

The one-on-one "battle" lasted just two hands, the final hand seeing Jones' ace-king spike a king on the turn to crack the pocket tens of Round and Jones, from Caerphilly, became the 2012 William Hill Welsh Amateur Poker Champion. In addition to the title, Jones won an APAT National Gold Medal, £2,750 in prize money and a seat at a Genting Poker Series tournament.

APAT’s next event; the Irish Amateur Poker Championship will take place the Macau Club in Cork on July 7th-8th. More details can be found at

APAT Welsh Amateur Poker Championship Final Table Payouts

1Andrew Jones£2,750
2JP Round£1,940
3Kevin O'Driscoll£1,210
4Warren Jones£750
5Jason Stephens£590
6Jason Kemp£460
7Dan Carpenter£370
8Garry Wilden£270
9David Jackson£210

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

Download William Hill through PokerNews and you will be able to claim a 200% match up to $2,000 first deposit bonus!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories