New poker experience at 888poker

Join now to get $88 FREE (no deposit needed)

Join now
Double your first deposit up to $400

New players can use bonus code 'STARS400'

Join now
partypoker Cashback

Get up to 40% back every week!

Join now
€200 progressive bonus

+ a FREE Unibet Open Qualifier ticket

Join now

Jack Drake Wins ANZPT Darwin Main Event

Jack Drake Wins ANZPT Darwin Main Event 0001

The third season of the PokerStars.net Australia New Zealand Poker Tour has come to a close after the Darwin Main Event was won by Jack Drake, the 28-year old taking home the $36,480 first place prize and a place in poker's history books.

Drake played superbly throughout the four days of poker and nobody will argue that the Queenslander ran out a worthy winner. Early on in the final day Drake was relieved to see two of his most dangerous opponents sent to the rail in Aaron Benton and Danny Chevalier, the latter being the newly crowned 2011 ANZPT Player of the Year. But his victory was certainly not a forgone conclusion and he had to fight his way to a heads-up encounter with Brett Dannevig.

Going into heads up Drake held a huge chip advantage over his opponent but Dannevig doubled up twice in quick succession, the second of which saw the pair get their chips in on a {7-Diamonds}{7-Clubs}{10-Clubs} flop, Drake holding {J-Spades}{10-Spades} to Dannevig's {10-Diamonds}{8-Diamonds}. The {5-Clubs} on the turn kept Drake in front bu the {8-Clubs} on the river doubled up Dannevig.

Drake did not let these setbacks put him off the task in hand and he started to open up a chip lead once again. The final hand saw him move all in with {A-Diamonds}{4-Diamonds} and Dannevig call with {K-Hearts}{9-Hearts}. The final board ran out {Q-Clubs}{Q-Hearts}{2-Clubs}{5-Diamonds}{5-Clubs} and with it Dannevig was eliminated in second place and Drake became the ANZPT Darwin Champion!

Final table results

 1stJack Drake$36,480
 2ndBrett Dannevig$24,960
 3rdFotios Manolakos$16,640
 4thMark Taylor$12,800
 5thJonathan Dangio$10,880
 6thJamie Hill$8,960
 7thGlenn Parry$7,040
 8thDanny Chevalier$5,760
 9thAaron Benton$4,480

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories