Winamax Poker Open Dublin 888poker XL Eclipse

Aaron Gustavson wins EPT London

Aaron Gustavson wins EPT London 0001

Last night the triumphant success that was the 2009 London Poker Month came to an end, as a new star was born at the largest ever tournament in the UK. Aaron Gustavson defeated 730 players, most notably and finally the reigning World Champion Peter Eastgate to become the 2009 EPT London Champion. The Pokerstars qualifier took down the £850,000 first prize and a seat in the EPT Monte Carlo Grand Final. Eastgate himself climbed up the all time money rankings with his £530,000 pay day for second place.

Ever the ambassador, Eastgate said: "It's been an amazing ride. I made it to second place, which is far more than you hope for going into a final table. Big applause for Aaron who won – he deserved it. I'm pleased I made it to heads-up."

Although he started the day as a runaway chip leader, Gustavson of America conceded the chip lead to Easgate when the play got short handed. When the action got heads up you would have fancied the world champion to take the title, with his big money experience and also because he is a heads up cash expert, but what could have been a very long tense matchup only last seven hands when the ace-nine of Eastgate was no match for the ace-queen of the 23 year old online pro.

"I'm speechless, totally overwhelmed. I don't think it's going to hit me for a quite a while. Having this title is amazing – a dream come true" said Gustavson, who is known as Aguskb online and his record includes an impressive Pokerstars Sunday Warmup victory, while his live record includes a side event win at Borgata this year. He said he plans on buying a house in Vegas and perhaps a Porsche" with his winnings.

The next event of EPT Season 6 is EPT Warsaw from October 20-25, 2009. Satellites are running now, as well as for the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure in January

Final Table Results
1. Aaron Gustavson - £850,000
2. Peter Eastgate - £530,000
3. Nikolai Senninger - £285,000
4. Martin Gudvangen - £227,000
5. Dominic Cullen - £173,000
6. Rui Milhomens - £124,000
7. Raymond Wu - £87,000
8. Karim Bennani - £50,100

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories